top of page
Writer's pictureKay

Plantain salve - Natural Neosporin

Here is my recipe for my plantain herbal salve. It has more than just plantain in it and each one very beneficial to cuts, scraped and wounds.



Items you will need:


1 cup coconut oil or olive oil. I prefer coconut because it doesn't go rancid as fast if its not put in the fridge


2 tbsp bees wax pellets or just wax but pellets are easier to measure out


1 tbsp Plantain leaves


1 tbsp calendula (marigold)


1 tbsp lavender flowers


1 tbsp comfrey (optional) Please do your research on this one. I dont usually add it to salve that will be on open wounds as some do not tolerate it well. I only add this for topical rubs that have no open wounds. We used a comfrey salve to help speed up my sons broken arm as it was known to native Americans as bone knit.


1. Infuse the oil. If you are using coconut oil you will need to use the heated method unless you are making this during the summer since coconut oil melts at 76°.


The heated method is to add the oil and the herbs into a slow cooker on warm or low setting for at least 8 hours. I try and do it overnight. Strain it and continue on.


If using the shelf method (i don't actually remember what its called so I call it the shelf method) just add the herbs into the oil, making sure they are fully submerged and let it sit on a dark shelf for 3-4 weeks, strain after this time and continue.


2. Heat the oil in a double boiler or slow cooker (which is my go to) with the bee's wax and stir gently until it melts fully.


3. Pour into tin or glass jar and use as needed for bites, stings, scrapes, cuts and rashes.


Optional: you can also add essential oils to this recipe but remember when using essential oils, find a good trusted brand. I use NOW brand for many herbs, oils, supplements and alternative foods I cant find locally. My favorite is Lavender. Add in the essential oil also makes the antibacterial properties of the lavender even more pronounced.


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


bottom of page