top of page
defocused-dry-autumn-leaves-nature.jpg
Writer's picturehippiehomestead19

DIY Homesteading: Seed starter pots

I am a big fan of the seed starting pellets or pots that can go straight into the ground. However, I rarely see them around here anymore. So I started making my own.



I've seen people make them out of news paper but I don't personally like how they degrade faster than other biodegradable materials. So I use toilet paper and paper towel tubes. And these are the ones i'm going to show you here.



Okay, so we'll start with a toilet paper tube or paper towel tube. If using TP tube, cut in half so you have 2 short tubes. If using PT tubes, cut into 4th's.









Now flatten the tube so there is creases on both sides opposite from eachother, then flatten the other way. This should make the tube look more like a slightly rounded square.


Cut about 1/2 inch on these creases









Now fold each section n like you would if you were closing a box.



It should look something like this. Now just set them in a tray or whatever you have to catch excess water and run off. Fill them with soil and plant away.


There is no need to remove the paper from the roots once they are big enough for transplant. Just pop the whole think into the ground.







9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page